Seeing red

I could feel the heat rising,

Red anger on my face,

The tears stung in my eyes,

Like my hand across your face.

Our son sat waiting

For his 4th birthday to begin

You’d lied to me for months

Why on this day admit your sin?

I told u to keep quiet

Just shut your fucking mouth

For once think of someone

Other than yourself.

U didn’t care what I had to say

U didn’t care about your son

U didn’t care what day it was

U wanted solace for what you’d done.

As if I didn’t know

As if I believed your every lie

Ur a fucking coward

The guilt ate you alive.

U didn’t just ruin the day

U ruined all our lives

U ruined everything before or since

With your constant Web of lies.

I’d given you everything,

Supported you through thick and thin

But I was not enough

You wanted more than one could give.

You wanted money but had no job,

You wanted love but couldn’t share,

Not your life, your love, or your commitment,

Did you even fucking care?

I gathered up my son,

Packed our things away

I headed for the door

There was nothing left to say.

13 thoughts on “Seeing red

  1. Pingback: Mad as a Hatter | The Story of a Guy

  2. Pingback: When A Bridge Ought Be Burned: A Story About Letting Go | Eyes Through The Glass - A Blog About Asperger's

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mad as a Hatter | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Small shoes, big emotions | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Mad as a Hatter | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  6. Pingback: Losing It, But Remembering Where It Is | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: I’ve been flipped so many times, now I’m finally done | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

